UK prepares legislation for exit from Euratom

On 11th October 2017, the UK government published its Nuclear Safeguards Bill to establish a domestic regime ahead of the country’s departure from the European Atomic Energy Community (Euratom).  The UK will withdraw from Euratom in 2019 as a result of the decision to leave the EU and the Nuclear Safeguards Bill will ensure that the UK has the right regime in place for the Office of Nuclear Regulation (ONR) to regulate nuclear safeguards. The UK will continue to be a member of the International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA).